LAHORE: Batsman Umar Akmal was dropped over disciplinary issues as the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Thursday announced the squad for the upcoming three-match T20 series against England.

Akmal was accused for participation in a dance party, local media reported.

According to a PCB press release, the 16-member squad was approved by Chairman Shaharyar Khan has following the recommendation of the selection committee headed by chief Selector Haroon Rashid.
A PCB statement said Akmal was in contention for a place in the T20 squad, but he was dropped after press reports revealed that “he had brought PCB and Pakistan Cricket into disrepute."
“Umar Akmal had been penciled in for selection, but he has subsequently been dropped on instructions from the Board, as he has been issued with a show cause notice for bringing PCB and Pakistan Cricket into disrepute,” said Chief Selector Haroon Rashid.
“Having experience of playing first class cricket for many years, with his form, sound technique and fitness, and also given his fielding credentials, Riffat Ullah Mohmand has been afforded an opportunity as he was considered to have potential to feature in an international T20 competition as an opener,” he said.
Meanwhile, Iftikhar Ahmed was included as the 16th member of the ODI squad to fill in the slot that fell vacant following Younis Khan's retirement.
“Iftikhar has filled in the spot vacated by Younis Khan in ODIs; it was considered that he also be tried in the T20 format on the back of his performance on the domestic T20 circuit,” said the chief selector.
16-member T20 squad:
Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Riffat Ullah Mohmand, Shoaib Malik, Sohaib Maqsood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfraz Ahmed, Anwar Ali, Imad Wasim (Subject to fitness, otherwise Bilal Asif), Imran Khan Junior, Mohammad Irfan, Sohail Tanvir, Wahab Riaz, Amir Yamin.
The T20 series commences on November 26 at the Dubai International Stadium, followed by the second game at the same venue on Nov 27 and Sharjah on Nov 30.