MOHALI: Pakistan on Friday were finally out of the World Twenty20 after another dismal performance in their last group match here at the Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium.

Chasing an improbable target of 194, Pakistan were never really in control of the asking rate throughout the chase as they could make 172 for eight.

Now, Australia, securing four points from three matches, have to beat India at the same venue on March 27 to get into the semi-finals.

This was the third successive defeat for Pakistan after a 55-run win against Bangladesh. They were beaten by six wickets against India, 22 runs against New Zealand and now 21 runs against Australia.

Left-arm pacer James Faulkner devastated Pakistan with his career-best five for 27 while leg-spinner Adam Zampa bagged two wickets and seamer Josh Hazlewood took one.

For Pakistan, Khalid Latif top-scored with 46, followed by Shoaib Malik with an unbeaten 20 ball-40, Umar Akmal (32) and Sharjeel Khan (30).

Captain Shahid Afridi struck two sixes in his seven-ball 14 while Imad Wasim and Wahab Riaz got ducks. Sarfraz Ahmed and Ahmed Shehzad were dismissed for two and one, respectively.

Earlier, Australia lost three early wickets for 57 after captain Steven Smith won the toss and opted for batting.

Usman Khawaja (21) and David Warner (9) were clean bowled by fast bowler Wahab Riaz while Aaron Finch (15) was bowled by left-arm spinner Imad Wasim.

However, Smith along with Glenn Maxwell and later with Shane Watson lifted Australia to a huge total of 193 for four, their second highest against Pakistan in a T20 International, after 197-7 at Gros Islet in May 2010.

Smith made an unbeaten 61off 43 balls with seven fours while Maxwell scored 30 off 18 balls with three fours and a six before Imad got him out.

Both added 62 runs for the fourth wicket and then Smith added another 74 runs for an unbeaten fifth wicket stand with the soon-to-retire Shane Watson, who also remained not out on 44 from 21 balls after hitting three sixes and four boundaries.

For Pakistan, Wahab and Imad claimed two wickets each while pacers Amir Khan, Mohamamd Sami and leg-spinner Afridi failed to get any wicket.