Senate polls on March 03: ECP


ISLAMABAD, FEB 11 (ONLINE): The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) while issuing Senate polls schedule on Thursday has announced Senate electionswill be held on March 3.
According to the ECP, the last date for filing of nomination papers is February 13 this will be followed by scrutiny process for the nominations which will be completed by February 12 while the last date for filing of appeals against acceptance or rejection of papers is February 18.
The date for disposal of appeals is February 20 and the revised list of the contestants will be issued later on February 21 while the candidates can use option of withdrawal of candidature till February 22.
According to a notification, the commission has called upon the members of the National Assembly to elect members of the Senate against one general seat and one seat for women from the Federal Capital.
It also called on provincial assemblies of Punjab, Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan province to elect the senate seven members from general seats, two members from the seats reserved for women and two members for the seats reserved for technocrats including Ulema from each of province and one seats for non-Muslims each from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan.
It added these new members will be elected in place of the members of the Senate, who are due to retire after the expiration of their term of office on March 11, 2021.
The polling time would be from 0900 hours to 1600 hours on March 3 while places of polling would be Parliament House, Islamabad for Federal Capital, Provincial Assembly building, Lahore for Punjab, provincial assembly building, Karachi for Sindh, provincial assembly building Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Peshawar for KP and provincial assembly building, Quetta for Balochistan.
All the four provincial assemblies and parliament house have been given the status of polling station and polls will take place on 48 seats.

Commission has appointed returning officers for the elections. Special Secretary Election Commission secretariat Zafar Iqbal has been appointed as Returning Officer (RO) for Islamabad, Provincial Election Commissioner Ghulam Israr Khan for Punjab, Provincial Election Commissioner Ijaz Anwar Chohan for Sindh , Provincial election commissioner Sharif Ullah for KP and provincial election commissioner Muhammad Razzaq has been appointed as RO for Balochistan.