KP govt decides to close schools in 9 districts


Peshawar – March 16 (Online): Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) government has decided to close schools in nine districts of the province in a bid to curb spread of coronavirus.
The districts that will be affected by the closure include Charsadda, Mardan, Swabi, Nowshera, Kohat, Malakand, Swat and Lower Dir.
A high level meeting under the chair of CM KP Mahmood Khan reviewed coronavirus situation in the province and formed a committee consisting of concerned ministers to mull over closure of markets too.
The meeting was briefed that coronavirus positivity rate in southern districts is one persons and a conditional permission has been granted for jeep rally and Derajat festival.
The meeting decided that coronavirus related Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) will be strictly enforced in the festival and in case of noncompliance, the programs will be closed.
CM Mehmood Khan said third wave of coronavirus is worrisome but government is taking all necessary measures to curb spread of the disease. He urged people to strictly follow SOPs and precautionary measures.