Australia announce 15-men squad for first two Ashes test


Melbourne – November 17 (Online): Australia have named a 15-man squad for the first two Ashes Tests against England.
Batter Usman Khawaja is recalled having not played Test cricket since August 2019 when Australia retained the Ashes with a 2-2 draw in England.
All-rounder Mitchell Marsh, who made a match-winning innings in the T20 World Cup final, has not been selected.
The first Test is in Brisbane on 8 December, before a day-night match in Adelaide on 16 December.
Khawaja, 34, will take on Travis Head for a spot in the middle order, with Marcus Harris set to open with David Warner.
Khawaja played in the first three Tests of the 2019 Ashes before he was dropped for the final two matches after defeat at Headingley.
Australian squad includes Tim Paine (c, wk), Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Steve Smith, and David Warner.