Committee set up to review policy regarding enforced disappearances


Government has constituted a high level committee with reference to enforced disappearances.

The 7-member committee will be led by law minister Senator Azam Nazir Tarar.

The other members are Minister for Interior Rana Sana Ullah Khan, Minister for Poverty Alleviation and Social Safety Shazia Marri, Minister for Communication Asad Mehmood, Minister for Defence Production Muhammad Israr Tareen, Minister for Maritime Affairs Syed Faisal Ali Subzwari and Minister for Science and Technology Agha Hassan Baloch.

Federal cabinet had accorded approval to set up this committee on May 24. It is aimed at evolving a clear policy about missing persons and enforced disappearances.
Islamabad High Court (IHC) has issued orders to the federal government from time to time on this count.

It has been laid down in the notification that federal government can include eminent jurists, representatives of human rights organizations and any other member(s) as it deems proper.

The recommendations of this committee will be presented before federal cabinet for formal approval. Interior ministry will provide secretariat support to committee.