SL name 18-men squad for Pakistan challenge


GALE, Sri Lanka – July 14 (ONLINE) Sri Lanka on Thursday announced their 18 men squad for first test against Pakistan.

Left-arm spinners Praveen Jayawickrama and Lasith Embuldeniya have been left for the two-match Test series against Pakistan starting tomorrow (Saturday).

Inexperienced left-arm spinners, Prabath Jayasuriya, who picked up a record 12 wickets on Test debut against Australia, and uncapped Dunith Wellalage, who were drafted in the Covid-hit squad ahead of the second Test last week, have been included.

Sri Lanka’s squad includes: Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Pathum Nissanka, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Ramesh Mendis, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Prabath Jayasuriya, Dunith Wellalage, Jeffrey Vandersay.